ATHENS: A MODERN SAINT IN A BROTHEL (SAINT PORPHYRIOS OF ATHENS, +1991)

images-72

Photo: Athens, Greece

http://athensofmyheart.wordpress.com

Athens of my heart…!

WORKER SECT IN GREECE: FROM WORKER SECT TO ORTHODOXY ╰⊰¸¸.•¨* ST JOHN MAXIMOVITCH & ST KEVIN OF IRELAND

images-8

ATHENS, GREECE

Elder Pophyrios (Saint Porphyrios, +1991) spoke of the following experience:

In the old days, during the feast of the Theophany, we used to sanctify homes. One year I also went to sanctify. I would knock on the doors of the apartments, they would open for me, and I walked in singing “In Jordan, You were baptized O Lord….”

As I went along the road called Maizonos, I saw an iron door. I opened it, walked into the courtyard which was full of tangerine, orange and lemon trees, and proceeded to the stairs. It was an outdoor staircase that went up, and down was the basement. I climbed the stairs, knocked on the door, and a lady appeared. Since she opened I began my common practice singing, “In Jordan, You were baptized O Lord….” She stopped me abruptly. Meanwhile, girls began to emerge from their rooms after hearing me…

View original post 409 more words

Leave a Reply

